The Anniversary

A year ago, today. That twelve months have passed, that a full year lies between that day and today, is both inconceivable and illogical to me. My lived experience of the past twelve months barely allows for a sense that time has passed. Since the rape, my awareness and understanding of time have been forced to change drastically. Living with post-traumatic stress does not provide for a neat experience of past, present and future. All those words that accompany our conception of time: continuum, transition, linear, progression – none of these relate to the experience of  living with trauma. Predictability, continuity, regularity: time no longer adheres to these measured adjectives. Instead it has become a vague and unknowable concept, an abstract principle that bears little connection to my lived reality, that instead of providing me with a dependable framework, seems rather to serve only to disorient and further distance me from ordinary life.

The distinctions we usually choose to categorise and explain our lived experience: the past, the present and the future are no longer the compliant descriptors I was accustomed to. They refuse to contain themselves within their established boundaries. My past is more like a ‘past life’ than anything I may really have lived. Prior to the sexual assault, all that I was, all that I did, all that I thought and believed has been lost to me, the connection between then and now has been brutally severed. Sometimes, I cannot believe all the things I used to do, the confident way I could imagine doing (and plan to do) just about anything I wanted to, but most of all, the blithe, unthinking faith that I would be ok, that no harm would come to me, that my security did not require constant monitoring. I know those feelings, I know who I was, I do believe in it, but I cannot feel part of it anymore. The link between that life and this life is not alive. My past is more like an elaborate dream, an imaginative tale that I have been told so many times that I have come to believe in it, to believe it happened, but I am not really able to establish a genuine continuity between then and now. From time to time, something will evoke that person, that life so potently that for an instant I can sense it, can almost feel it or become it, but then all it takes is one inkling of fear, one suggestion of trauma for it to wither, almost as quickly as it came, disappearing like a mirage unsettled by the undeniable proof of a parched throat, shimmering heat and sands as far as the eye can see.

The present has been so fully colonised by the impacts of trauma that it would be hard to describe it as in any way mine. So much of my time and my energy and myself is given over to navigating the repeated pathways of terror, grief, anger and shock, to mitigating the exhaustion and loneliness, to handling the flashbacks and dispossession. The past twelve months haven’t felt at all like a year of my life, instead they have felt like an endless series of Groundhog Days, but without even the reliability of that solid 24-hour structure. I do not know when the current experience of grief will morph into terror or perhaps disgust. I cannot say when or how or what is next. Living with sexual assault is like being caught on a treadmill. I walk and I walk and I walk but I never get anywhere. No distance has been covered, no terrain has been traversed, no destination has been reached. I have simply exhausted myself going nowhere. All that effort expended and yet, I find myself still in the same place I set out from. That night could be last night. No interval seems to exist between then and now. That night seems to have established its own special relationship with time. It is endlessly able to stretch its long, cold, dark tendrils out from the ostensible past into the future and to pull it back within its nightmarish grasp, forever converting the future into a present that exists only on its terms.

The anniversary is a potent reminder that time has passed, even if it doesn’t feel like it. A signifier that life is going on, that the days are becoming weeks and then months and then years. They are adding up, they are forming an interval between then and now, even if that does not seem plausible, even if that fact does not equate with the rawness, the freshness, the sharpness of the hurt I am feeling right now. The anniversary shines a light, a bright, searing light that so completely illuminates what has happened to me, what my life has become that for that period there are no shadows. The light is so bright it is blinding, you don’t see anything you just feel it’s heat, its burning force bearing down upon you. There is no relief. The brutal strength of that light is inescapable. At times like this, the only thing to do is to fall back on logic, even if the comfort it can offer seems about as effective as putting a bandaid on a gushing, gaping wound. Logic reminds you that if time has passed then things have changed. Logic tells you that you know things now you didn’t know then. Logic says that this year will be different from last year, even if many of the constraints remain the same. Logic is right. But, so are the feelings. Sexual assault has destroyed and then dominated my life, but with each day that goes past that grip is forced to reach a little further to maintain its grasp and so ever so slowly its power is being undermined. My life will slip out from the grip of trauma, bit by bit more of it will open to me and less of it will be available to the forces of terror. It may be painstaking but it is possible. Logic proclaims it so.

This entry was posted in rape, violence against women and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Anniversary

  1. Noori says:

    I understand exactly how you’re feeling here. The first year for me was so hard I stayed inside, curled up in a protective ball and cried. This last marker of the assault, I thought about it constantly but was still functional. That time of the year will always be upsetting to me, and I don’t think a year will ever go by when I won’t remember and think to myself “a week and __ years ago, I had no idea…”. Time passes in strange loops. Sometimes quickly, sometimes so slowly I wonder if the next minute will come at all.
    I had no idea that the first year was going to be so hard. I didn’t talk to anybody about how I was feeling. I felt as though I shouldn’t feel this way, as though I should be “over it” already. But as you clearly demonstrate, that’s not the case. Nobody gets “over it” sufficiently in the first year, and that’s a harsh truth to experience, but thank you for letting others know that they are not the only ones suffering so long.

  2. Hannah says:

    Its my one year anniversary tonight, in about 5 hours to be precise. I have nobody to turn too, but I found this on the internet and cried with relief that I wasn’t being stupid or pathetic or “over-reacting” and that it’s ok to be in a mess about it. I feel nervous, for some reason, as if it will happen all over again at 4 o’clock. But reading this has let my brain sort out its thoughts because every single sentence you wrote makes complete sense to me. The past year has been extremely difficult, I am a completely different person, sometimes I don’t even recognize myself, part of the recovery process is grieving for the girl I used to be. The sickening feeling is that he has been with me every step for it, every time I think I’m moving on he pops back in my head, or I get another random flashback. Living with post traumatic stress in a world like today’s is so very hard, nobody understands. I have struggled a lot this week especially, like this date was some kind of ‘D’ day looming over me. Now it’s here, but thanks to reading your blog, I don’t feel so guilty about being in such a state. I can let myself feel all these emotions that I can’t even explain, and then start the cycle all over again tomorrow morning, like you say, groundhog day. Thank you, so so much, for posting this.

    • Hi Hannah, thank you for your comment and for sharing your experience. It is always a little bit relieving – even though even more devastating – to hear that other people find these things as difficult as I do. It’s horrific the way the memory of the assault lives on and the way the Anniversary brings back the terror and trauma so potently. It never stops being galling that we have to keep going through these cycles, over and over and over again, as we try to cope with what has been done to us. I hope you got through it ok. Best wishes, Kate

Leave a Reply

